Fragen and Antwort

Risks

Like with every operation there are also in the reproductive medicine health risks, which are luckily rather rare. Here are the three potential risk factors:

  • Over stimulation syndrome (OHSS)

    With the over stimulation syndrome the patient react too strongly to the stimulation therapy, the ovaries produce a lot of follicle vesicles which increasingly pour out hormones again. As a result to this it can occur a feeling of sickness and liquid assemblage in the belly space (abdominal dropsy) which links to pain. This normally happens in a later time of the stimulation therapy, mostly after the follicle puncture. If then increasingly pains appear in the belly space, a doctor must be absolutely informed. In very rare cases a treatment in a hospital has to occur.

  • Multiple pregnancies

    The risk of multiple pregnancies is basically raised in the reproductive medicine, because normally to back up the success more than one embryo is transferred. Statistically about 20% of all pregnant IVF patients get twins and up to 3% get triplets. By the obliging restriction in Germany to three embryos higher rates of pregnancies are extremely unlikely, but by monovular multiples not totally out of the question.

  • Psychic Stress

    The treatment of infertility goes along with long time involvement and requires from the affected couples a maximum in patience. In addition the patients undergo a strong variation of feelings between hope, fear, joy and disappointment. This situation can lead to strong stress situations which not only can decrease the quality of life, but also the health of the patient. A good advice in these cases are self-help groups.

Very seldom complications through surgical operation with the IVF appear, like small injuries in the belly space or infections. With increasing age the risk for miscarriages rises, but until now a connection with the IVF could not be related. Nevertheless, IVF patients has often a higher average age then the rest of the population, therefore alone for this group the rate of miscarriages are slightly higher.

Fragen and Antwort

Risiken

Wie bei jedem medizinischen Eingriff gibt es auch in der Reproduktionsmedizin gesundheitliche Risiken, die zum Glück jedoch sehr selten sind. Hier sind vor allem drei potentielle Risikofaktoren zu nennen:

  • Überstimulationssyndrom (OHSS)

    Bei einer Überstimulation sprechen die Patienten zu stark auf die Stimulationstherapie an, die Eierstöcke produzieren dort sehr viele Eibläschen, die wiederum vermehrt Hormone ausschütten. In Folge kann es zu Übelkeit und Flüssigkeitsansammlungen im Bauchraum (Aszitis) mit damit verbundenen Schmerzen kommen. Dies beginnt normalerweise erst an einem späteren Zeitpunkt der Stimulationstherapie, meist nach der Follikelpunktion. Falls dann zunehmend Schmerzen im Bauchraum auftreten, muss unbedingt ein Arzt informiert werden. In sehr seltenen Fällen ist gegebenenfalls eine Behandlung im Krankenhaus notwendig.

  • Mehrlingsschwangerschaften

    Das Risiko von Mehrlingsschwangerschaften ist in der Reproduktionsmedizin grundsätzlich erhöht, da in der Regel zur Sicherstellung des Erfolgs mehr als ein Embryo übertragen werden. Statistisch bekommen rund 20% aller schwangeren IVF-Patienten Zwillinge und bis zu 3% Drillinge. Durch die in Deutschland verbindliche Beschränkung auf drei Embryonen sind höhergradige Schwangerschaften extrem unwahrscheinlich, durch eineiige Mehrlinge aber nicht völlig ausgeschlossen.

Sehr selten treten Komplikationen der mit der IVF verbundenen chirurgischen Eingriffen auf, etwa kleinere Verletzungen im Bauchraum oder Infektionen. Mit zunehmendem Alter steigt zudem das Risiko für Fehlgeburten, doch ein Zusammenhang mit der IVF konnte bis heute nicht eindeutig belegt werden. Allerdings haben IVF-Patienten oft ein höheres Durchschnittsalter als die übrige Bevölkerung, so dass die Fehlgeburtlichkeit alleine dadurch in dieser Gruppe etwas höher ausfällt.